Sunday, November 7, 2010

Nine Meditations on Christmas Carols for Organ, by Weldon Whipple

Just published, Weldon Whipple's latest organ book includes the following:
  1. It Came upon the Midnight Clear (tune: Carol)
  2. Once in Royal David's City (tune: Irby)
  3. Infant Holy, Infant Lowly (tune: Zlobie)
  4. O Little Town of Bethlehem (tune: St. Louis)
  5. I Wonder as I Wander (tune: I Wonder)
  6. See amid the Winter's Snow (tune: Humility)
  7. Silent Night (tune: Stille Nacht)
  8. Away in a Manger (tune: Cradle Song)
  9. Away in a Manger (tune: Luther's Cradle Hymn)

You can purchase Nine Meditations at the following locations (possibly elsewhere as well):
Most of the pieces have been published previously elsewhere:

1. "It Came upon the Midnight Clear" first appeared in the November/December 2006 issue of The Organist, published by Lorenz of Dayton, Ohio. It appears in in this compilation by permission.

2. "Once in Royal David's City" was previously published in the November/December 2007 issue of The Organ Portfolio, another Lorenz publication. We thank them for allowing it to appear in Nine Meditations!

3. "Infant Holy, Infant Lowly" appeared in Lorenz's The Sacred Organ Journal, November/December 2005. (Thank you, Lorenz!)

4. "O Little Town of Bethlehem" is available in The Organist's Library, v. 42, pp. 67-69 (Dayton, OH: Lorenz, 2007). Again, it appears in this collection with their permission and blessing.

5. "I Wonder as I Wander" can also be purchased as a separate download at

6. "See amid the Winter's Snow," composed in 2010, appears in this collection for the first time.

7. "Silent Night" was newly revised in 2010. An earlier version is available at

8. "Away in a Manger" (based on the tune "Cradle Song") has been slightly modified from the version available at

9. The final "Away in a Manger" (based on the tune "Luther's Cradle Hymn") was first published in 1994 in Weldon's Award-Winning Preludes on Hymn Tunes (Wellspring Music). You can also purchase it separately at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.